Month: November 2009

  • One of the main highlights of our week is our weekly group dinner. Friends and family get together each week at our house and we just hang out, eat, and visit. Makes for a wonderful break to the usual routine and is always fun times. I love it especially because it gives me a chance to make new foods (or old favorites).

    People sometimes change from week to week, depending on their schedules, and sometime we have 4 people other times 14. In getting the menus together for these gatherings , I realized something. I read cookbooks the way other people read novels. I start at the beginning, and go through the whole book, section by section. I highlite, mark pages, refer back to passages I especially want to remember, and in general treat them the same as other books.

    I should have know this sooner, and in reality I have given it a passing thought or two. As in thinking “Good Lord, the way I looked at that book you would have thought it was the latest best seller”.

    But I have now come to the realization that that is exactly the way I read them, and with the exception of the Bible, reread them more than any other books I own.

    My DH is a bit dismayed by the stacks of cookbooks laying about on the fireplace and is beginning to hint that perhaps they would be happy to live in another spot. Silly man, he actually wants to USE the fireplace now that the cool winter weather is upon us.

    Today we are using a fantastic book “The Cornbread Gospels” by Cresent Dragonwagon.
    Our Tuesday dinner for tonight is White Chicken Chili and Double Beef Chili, so we are making a Creamed Corn Cornbread to go along with it.

    Oh, and Gooey Butter cake for dessert.



    I will let you know how it goes

     

    So far:  

    The table:

    (notice the bookcases, all cookbooks)

     november 2009 013

    Corn Bread Bowls, large and small

    november 2009 012

     

    The Chilis:  Double Beef

    november 2009 014

     

    And White Chicken

    november 2009 015

     

    The Gooey Cake waiting to be cooked

    november 2009 017

     

    Now we are just waiting for the others to arrive

     

  • It has been a long week.

    Lots of phone calls, lots of trying to figure out what to do

    Been filling out applications, but nothing yet

    My availibility is not good, with having to be at the shop at least 60% of the time I am only available after 6p and weekends

    I did get some things listed on ebay, clothing, not fabric

    I need to work on fabric, but I can only do so much

    Car is on ebay. Ending tomorrow.  We are taking such a loss.  It breaks my heart

    But our property taxes are due now and insurance, and tires, and electricity, and so on and so on.

    So anything is a Godsend and I am greatful for it

     

    The Weekend List

    Finish Menu for Tuesday Supper Club Meal 

    Finish Thanksgiving Menu

    Get the final grocery items for Tuesday and Thanksgiving

    Sweep and Mop all floors

    Clean both bathrooms

    Dust

    Laundry

    Clean middle room

    Clean Sunshine’s room

    Work on Christmas projects

    Find craft things for kids to do Thursday

    Get suitcase for Arizona gifts

    List a bit of Fabric

    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

  • Starting to plan the menu for Thanksgiving.

    Having breakfast with my SIL’s Mom & Dad tmrw – should be fun

    *******************************

    Feeling very blessed at the moment – thanks so much for all the kind words

    *******************************************************************************

    Today an old friend came by the shop

    We see each other a couple of times a month and talk about our families and our lives.

    Normal middle aged ladies stuff   ……

    We used to work together. Drove to work together.  She is freaky smart and I learned a ton from her. When they fired me no one was more shocked than she was. She brought me my things – took her whole van, and for a few days we walked together in the mornings before she went to work,  she knew I would be up and a bit lost. So we walked, talked, and I cried and tried to understand.

    Eventually they fired her too.  When she left the building she headed to my shop.  She had not been there before, not in the four years I had been there.  When she walked in I knew what had happened.

    Since then she has come by about once a week.  We have talked about everything under the sun and more.  Kids, Grandkids, spouses, all of it. We have plotted, planned and conspired.  Mostly we laugh. Funny, we never go anywhere together anymore.  We used to go out to dinner, and once we joined a gym. 

    Life has set us in a pattern that revolves us around each other in a very specific manner.  But it is good, and I much appreciate her presence.  Today I made a point to tell her that.  You know what?  She already knew!  Told you she was freaky smart.

     

  • Well, the time has come.  Today is going to be house cleaning day. 

    Used to be every Sunday, but habits are so much easier to break than follow.  

    So now it is time to make up and get the mess taken in hand

    So here goes: 

     

    To-Do List 

    Clean and mop master bath   

    Clean and mop hall bath

    Sweep all floors   

    Mop all floors

    Vaccum bedroom

    Vaccum office carpet

    Dust

    Remake Bed

    Laundry

    Make Tuna Loaf

    Clean out Back Fridge

    Clean out house fridge

    Paperwork for Care Credit

    Paperwork for taxes

    Sew Xmas gift to take to AZ

    Clean middle room

    Clean sitting room

    Clean S Man’s room

    Grocery List for Tuesday

    Menu for Thanksgiving

    etc

    etc

    etc

    Breath

    Coffee